“Tomorrow’s Song”

Late last night my phone kept buzzing with Twitter notifications from Jon Foreman. To give you a basic idea of what was going on they go as follows:

@jonforeman: Ok, let’s try something: if I were to write a song tomorrow, what would the tune be called?

@jonforeman: Hmmmm Lots of votes for: “song for tomorrow”

@jonforeman: thanks for the inspiration! -had an idea: one of these days we should all write a song with the same title on the same day… Could be fun

@jonforeman: Ok, so over the next 24 hours let’s all write a song called “tomorrows song” who’s with me?

@jonforeman: Not really sure the best way to share these things! But lyrics are a good start- can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with..

@jonforeman: The only rules are this: write a song in the next 24 hours called Tomorrow’s Song” the music is the prize

Anyway, this afternoon I decided it would be a good exercise and came up with this. Here is my version of “Tomorrow’s Song.” I haven’t written many songs and this is definitely the first I have shared with so many people. Enjoy.

Tomorrow’s Song

by Ryan Shetler Copyright 2011


V.1

I was the traveler who lost the road

I was the prodigal son who ran away from home

And I was the child who went all wrong

And I was the minstrel who forgot how to sing,

To sing tomorrow’s song.

Chorus:

Sing to me tomorrow’s song,

Because I don’t know the words.

I lost the pen you gave me

When I tried to numb my hurts

My verses change every day

But You sing the  same refrain

Sing to me tomorrow’s song

So I can sing again.

V.2

I heard you sing tomorrow’s song

When I passed You on the road

And I barely heard tomorrow’s song

When I ran away from home

You found this child, you brought me back

You knew that I was wrong.

And you taught this minstrel how to sing again

To sing tomorrow’s song

Chorus:

Sing to me tomorrow’s song,

Because I don’t know the words.

I lost the pen you gave me

When I tried to numb my hurts

My verses change every day

But You sing the same refrain

Sing to me tomorrow’s song

So I can sing again.

Bridge:

Tomorrow, tomorrow’s song

Tomorrow, tomorrow’s song

Oh sing, to me of tomorrow’s song.


This entry was posted in Music.

One comment on ““Tomorrow’s Song”

  1. Andrew says:

    I like it a lot!
    Keep writing, son.

Leave a Reply

