“Somebody’s Baby”

I rediscovered this amazing song just today. Singer, Jon Foreman writes about a homeless lady he has encountered numerous times. Some of the references in the song are fictional: his imagination filling in the details of what her life might be like.

It’s a terrific reminder of how precious these people are to God. Imagine the pain of no one really knowing or caring whether it’s your birthday or not. Imagine it making no difference to anyone whether you were dead or alive. The pain of living inside an experience like that is unfathomable to me.

This song is a reminder not to think of these people as gross and disgusting, but to remember that they need us to show them God’s love possibly more than anyone else. This is one of the most honest and also one of the saddest songs I’ve heard recently.

By clicking the video below, you can listen to the song. Listen for the sad, haunting cello solo at the end and the way it complements the emotion in the song. Here are the lyrics:

Somebody’s Baby – Winter EP

She yells, “if you were homeless
Sure as hell you’d be drunk
Or high or trying to get there
Or begging for junk
When people dont want you
They just throw you money for beer.”

Her name was November
She went by Autumn or Fall
It was seven long years
Since the Autumn when all
Of her nightmares grew fingers
And all of her dreams grew a tear

She’s somebody’s baby
Somebody’s baby girl
She’s somebody’s baby
Somebody’s baby girl
And she’s somebody’s baby still

She screams, “Well if you’ve never
Gone at it alone, well then go ahead
You better throw the first stone
You got one lonely stoner
Waiting to bring to her knees”

She dreams about heaven
Remembering hell
As a nightmare she visits
And knows all too well
Every now and again
When she’s sober she brushes her teeth

She’s somebody’s baby…

Today was her birthday
Strangely enough
When the cops found her body
At the foot of the bluff
The annonymous caller this morning
Tipped off the police

They got her I.D
From her dental remains
The same fillings still intact
The same nicotine stains
The birth and the death were both over
With no one to grieve

She’s somebody’s baby…

This is the first time I’ve embedded a video on my blog. If there are technical issues with it, please tell me.

6 comments on ““Somebody’s Baby”

  1. Sherilyn Miller says:

    Oh my, how to respond. I don’t usually comment unless my heart is stirred, and I find myself wanting to comment on all 3 of your last posts… proly would be overkill, huh? 🙂 (I usually sort of randomly check some of my favorite blogs when I have time instead of subscribing. Wierd, I know.) Lets just say, music that the text and music speak together, well, it is just incredible music.
    -Sherilyn

    • rjshetler says:

      Well, it’s completely up to you, but I have no problem with you commenting as much as you want to. As an aspiring writer, I welcome as much feedback as I can get.
      Also, you’re right. The music and the text of that song are incredibly moving to me. The haunt of the cello and the rawness of the vocals just give it an aching feel that is so effective.
      Foreman does that so often. I will never claim he has a perfect voice but he’s an excellent songwriter/communicator and one of my favorites.

  2. Esta says:

    Hm. He likes Jon Foreman.

    That’s probably a sufficaint reason to add to Google Reader even before reading more, she decides.

    • rjshetler says:

      Wow. Thanks. I appreciate that. Just checked out your blog, though not extensively, and you’ve got some really beautiful writing going on. I’ll definitely check it out more.

      Yes. Jon Foreman. He’s one of my biggest heroes as a musician, as a writer, as a person. He’s so honest. He finds such new and beautiful ways to talk about such ordinary and common struggles. It would take me quite a while to talk about all the things that I like about the ordinary but extraordinary Jon Foreman.

  3. Becca says:

    Oh, mercy. This song. Wow. I saw the faces of so many people and prayed that God would teach us how to love.

    Thanks for linking my blog! I’m honored.

  4. rjshetler says:

    Yeah. This song is so powerful, especially since it’s about a real person. He filled in some of the details but it’s a real person.

    No problem. I saw I got some traffic from your blog so I thought I’d return the favor. 🙂 Not just that, I’ve read some on your blog and you’ve got some very artful and worthwhile writing.

Leave a Reply

